Demography, Social and Economic Indicators
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is a research platform of scientific citation indexing service, helping to find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It provides integrated access to high quality scholarly literature that links a wide variety of content. Web of Science core collection includes access to Arts & Humanities Citation Index of 1780 journals, Science Citation Index Expanded of 8892 journals, Social Sciences Citation Index of 3250 journals and Emerging Sources Citation Index of 5721 journals. For a quick reference guide on how to use Web of Science, click here and for other training resources, see here.
IndiaStat is a socio-economic and statistical database with a cluster of 57 sites including India-specific, sector specific, region specific and state specific sites providing authentic and comprehensive compilation of secondary level socio-economic statistical data about India and its states, region and sector on more than 35 variables.
EPW Research Foundation India Time Series provides expertise in important areas of economic research and analysis. This database provide access to industrial statistics, wholesale and consumer price indices, central and state government finances, the financial system and the money market, balance of payments, foreign trade, external debt and exchange rate statistics and some social sector development indicators covering over 45 macro-economic and sectoral data sets. The modules IIHS subscribed are Banking Statistics (Basic Statistical Returns (BSR)), Domestic Product of States of India, Industrial Production Series, Finances of State Governments in India, Annual Survey of Industries, National Accounts Statistics of India, Combined Government Finances, Finances of Government of India.
Industry Outlook – Industry Outlook is a web delivered service that provides real time analysis of current trends, insights of the long term trends and quantitative forecasts for over 190 industries. It contains historical data on capacity, production, foreign trade, detailed aggregated financial performance of industries along with company-wise disaggregations.
CapEx – The CapEx database provides insights on new capacities coming up in India in the near, medium and long term. These are aggregated across industries, product groups, geographies, project status, capacity creation and ownership. Access to individual project profiles is also provided.
Prowess – Prowess is a database (desktop installation) of the financial performance of 27,000+ Indian companies – listed and unlisted companies are covered. It presents several analytical tabulations that include ratio analysis, funds flow analysis, bench-marking and peer comparisons.
Economic Outlook – Economic Outlook is a compilation of the largest time-series data on the Indian economy and includes data and analysis on growth, inflation, fiscal balance, balance of payments, infrastructure, corporate earning and a host of sectoral indicators. The presentations are replete with tabulations, incisive analysis and quantitative forecasts.
States of India – CMIE compiles Central & State government reports and CMIE’s own state-level data and weaves them into one cohesive and seamless offering called States of India. The spectrum of statistics includes demographic, economic, industrial and socio-economic indicators.
Commodities – Commodities combines the best of near real-time spot prices and market intelligence, historical fundamental data and robust forecasts for agricultural crops. Commodities delivers prices data on 200 varieties of 70 commodities from 150 markets. CMIE has its own price-polling and market intelligence gathering infrastructure. This is supplemented with price data obtained from official sources and from the commodity exchanges.
Consumer Pyramids – A dynamic database that captures household consumption and expenditure trends across India. We survey 200,000 households across the county in over 300 cities and 3500 villages to arrive at urban and rural estimates. Estimations are further aggregated by the following groups – household income, occupation, levels of education, size of household, age-composition of households and amenities of households.
At OECD iLibrary, Urban, Rural and Regional Development module provides access to print publication plus online access to all OECD books and papers on urban, rural and regional affairs. It includes books in the series of Local Economic and Employment Development, Reviews of Regional Innovation, Rural Policy Reviews, Territorial Reviews and Urban Policy Reviews. Other sources include Annuals & Outlooks of OECD Regions at a Glance, OECD Regional Statistics of Large and Small Regions, Metropolitan Regions, and Regional Well-being and OECD Regional Development Working and Policy Papers. Approximately 15 titles are published per year and this module includes online access to all titles published from 1998 onwards.
Manupatra is a leading provider of legal, taxation, corporate and business policy databases with decision support information to the legal, corporate, academic and the government sectors. With primary documents and proprietary analytical content this database covers commentaries, treatises, digests, editorial enhancements etc. Some of the database features are Case Law Database, Notification Database, Legislation Database, Business & Policy Database and Law Journals.