About

You are here: Home > About 

The IIHS Library is central to the institution’s mission to build a research, knowledge, and teaching hub focused on India’s urbanisation. It aims to be the largest reference library on urbanisation in South Asia, providing a range of resources and services to support researchers and practitioners studying urban processes and transitions in developing countries.

At the Bengaluru City Campus, the IIHS Library is a repository of over 24,000 books including 1,220 CDs and DVDs, 710 cartographic materials, 66 print journals and magazines, 52 case studies, 698 bound volumes of journal back issues.

The IIHS Library also houses a Data Library that accesses and archives the most up-to-date socio-economic data available in India related to urbanisation. In addition to archiving and publishing data from public data sources such as the Census and NSS, the Data Library also subscribes to a number of databases such as the CapEx, IndiaStat, and the EPW Research Foundation – India Time Series and Manupatra.

Through a series of thematic monthly exhibitions of books, maps, and movies, and public events such as book launches and talks, the Library furthers its core knowledge functions at IIHS and in the wider community. The Library provides a range of services including reference services, research and teaching support, and circulation services. Equipped with computers for users’ access and teaching aids such as EndNote, Mendeley, STATA and Turnitin, the IIHS Library supports the research and teaching needs of the faculty and learners through a range of services.

For further details, contact: library at iihs dot ac dot in

Timings: Monday ~ Thursday 9:30 am ~ 8:00 pm
Friday 9:30 am ~ 6:30 pm
Saturday 9:30 am ~ 5:00 pm

List of Holidays 2021

Holiday Date Day
New Year 1 January 2021 Friday
Republic day 26 January 2021 Tuesday
Dasara / Vijayadashami 15 October 2021 Friday
Kannada Rajyosthava 1 November 2021 Monday
Deepavali / Balipadyami 5 November 2021 Friday
Winter Break 27 to 31 December 2021 Monday To Friday

Holidays on Weekends

Holiday Date Day
Uzhavar Thirunal 16 January 2021 Saturday
Mahaveera jayanthi 25 April 2021 Sunday
May day 1 May 2021 Saturday
Independence day 15 August 2021 Sunday
Gandhi Jayanti 2 October 2021 Saturday
Christmas 25 December 2021 Saturday

People